My First Vacation in ‘Pinas’- Day 2

At exactly 7 A.M. of Saturday , I’m already up packing my things to Baguio. I used my pink trolley since I find this handy  eversince we had our  workshop in Gunung Jerai ,Malaysia. At around 9 AM, I decided to take my brunch (breakfast and lunch) in Jollibee Philcoa so to have the energy for a  5-hour trip (if I can get the De Luxe trip-with no stop-overs) going to the Pine City.

This is what I had: fried rice with Jumbo Hotdog served with hot, black coffee.  I do not have any stocks of food, not even coffee at home. That’s why I felt sluggish that morning.

Thanks to the coffee booster, but blame the traffic in Cubao, I wasn’t able to get the 10:15 A.M. trip so I was booked at 1:15 P.M.I just decided to stay for a while in Starbucks, Ali Mall while waiting for the trip and started writing my blog for my first day of stay here in the Philippines.:-))

At 12:15 NN, I excitedly return to Victory Liner Cubao, and  rode the De luxe bus waiting for its passengers. The seats were comfortable enough for a very long trip, with also the built-in comfort room  inside the bus.

The fare was P715.00 (one-way) compared to the usual fare (aircon) which is only P455. This is fit for those who are in a hurry, those who are carrying children or elderly on their way home. I was seated  at the back and I can see the whole scenery as we ascend the mountain.

There was also a free Hello wafer with mineral water served for all.-))

I arrived at the bus terminal  in Baguio City at around  6:00 PM and decided to go immediately to Saint Louis University (SLU) for the registration of the Philippine Society of Anatomists, Inc. convention.

Unfortunately, there was no signage/ tarpaulin for the convention, and the security guards don’t know exactly the place of the registration. I ended up roaming around the College of Medicine but there’s no one around and I was caught unprepared for that situation. I don’t even have a cellphone number of any member  so I just decided to find a place to stay that night and just return early in the morning.

Among the lists of hotels recommended by my friend/colleague Dr. Roy, I chose Hotel Veniz for its proximity to SLU and Burnham Park, where I also want to stroll around.

During  peak season like this, most hotels are already fully-booked when tourists walked-in. So I was left with Superior room, double bed for P2,295 in one night.

It has its own ref with the sodas and bottled mineral water inside, cookies and chips, coffee, noodles,  cable TV, hair dryer, percolator and free wifi connection. It is also air-conditioned but the air coming from the window is cool enough to make the room freeze.

(Me, myself and I… in a superior room… maximizing my time, to document my stay! LOL)

After checking –in, I took my dinner at Chowking  just across  Hotel Veniz. I had daing na b angus, kangkong with bagoong, rice and diet Coke. After the hearty supper, I  still have the energy  to stroll around the night market. There were lots of fresh vegetables around, ukay-ukay,and  street foods like fishballs, kikiam, even inihaw ng tilapia!

This is what I got from Manang, a Swarovski bracelets with seashells for only P50 each.

After taking some pictures of Baguio at night, I finally decided to have a restful sleep that night.:-)))

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. docgelo
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 05:57:23

    ikaw na! ikaw na ang full pledged blogger from penang! 🙂

    more! more! more! next post please!

    Reply

  2. docgelo
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 05:59:14

    natawa ako when i read you came in late for the bus in cubao terminal. didn’t you remember our beloved battle cry in kepala batas? “the bus will not wait for you!” yun lang! hahaha! :p

    Reply

Leave a Reply

