My First Vacation in ‘Pinas’- Day 3

Day 3 (March 27- Sunday)

I woke up at 5:45 AM and see from my window the beauty of Baguio. The convention will start at 8AM and I still have the luxury of time to jog around Burnham park.

I took a lot of pictures of flowers,  the man-made lagoon, the boats shaped like a swan, dragon, winnie the pooh and a mermaid.

It could have been merrier if my friends (Dea and Tin) was able to join me but for some unavoidable circumstances, they were not able to. The ‘tyangge’ opens at 8AM and closes at 9PM.

The lagoon…

After an hour of walk-jog-picture-taking,  I went to the 3rd floor of the hotel where VENIZ GRILL is located. These cheesecakes caught my attention.:-))

I claimed my free breakfast buffet: dilis, tocino, lumpiang shanghai and an orange juice.

At 7:50AM I am exactly outside the hotel. I just took a jeepney ride (5 minute-ride) going to SLU for a fare of P8.00.

The convention is located in the Center for Culture and Arts (CCA) building located in the upper campus (that’s why I was not able to find it a night before). I was able to meet Dr. Dina (whom Dr. Sarah told me to look for). All the doctors welcomed the new members warm-heartedly and I felt at ease immediately with their company.:-))

The all topics of the 3 speakers were very interesting, and one of these includes the topic of Dr. Romeo Abiog regarding the “Gross Anatomic Features and their Health correlations”. This includes: 1) smaller calf size are prone to have stroke, whereas those with larger ones has lesser chance of having stroke 2) Bra size of cup D, may also spell as ‘Diabetes’ 3) those with multiple earlobe creases may predict  future cardiovascular events.

The conference ended at 12 NN followed by the report of the President and Secretary. Buffet lunch was served: beef caldereta; chopsuey and kare-kare with buco-mais as dessert.

I checked out at exactly 1:00 PM in Hotel Veniz and dragging my trolley with me, I roam around the tyangge market in Burnham park for my pasalubong:

These keychains  and coin purses worth only P10 each. The sling bags for me and my sister (P150 each),  the bonnets/caps(3 for P100) and not to forget the ube jam from Good Shepherd monastery (P180) were among the items  I chose.

At the end of tyangge market were a  lot of food stalls. The chocolate fountain and milk caught my attention.

There were a lot of buses  from Baguio going to Manila every 15 minutes. I rode the bus at 2 PM and I reached Quezon City at 8 PM. There were 2 stop-overs: Bulacan and Pangasinan where I bought puto calasiao which I crave for a long time.

Malou  and I took our dinner at Chowking, and decided to have a foot spa afterwards to  treat my tired and  aching feet at Reyes Haircutters Salon also located in Philcoa.

I was surprised by Malou when I saw my friend  Charina, whom I wasn’t able to see for 5 years. It was a happy reunion! (Charina  just went home from the US last February and will go back in June 2011 for her Phd project).

After giving me feet a refreshing reward…I am ready again for the next day to fulfill my scheduled tasks…J!!!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. docyambao
    Apr 02, 2011 @ 03:06:04

    Nice photoblog anna! As always nakakagutom, specially from a land far far away! hahahahahahahaha

    Reply

  2. docgelo
    Apr 02, 2011 @ 15:08:56

    talaga naman, blog series ito! nice one, anna! 😀
    dami food, ginutom ako!
    the photos taken from burnham park made me miss baguio more. buti ka pa, nakapasyal ka na ulit doon; nakauwi pa ng pinas.

    next post, please!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

