Summer Getaway 2011: Part 1

1)Let us be grateful to people who make us happy; they are the charming gardeners who make our souls blossom.

– Marcel Proust

2)I always felt that the great high privilege, relief and comfort of friendship was that one had to explain nothing.

– Katherine Mansfield

3)Friendship with oneself is all important because without it one cannot be friends with anybody else in the world.

– Eleanor Roosevelt


These are the sayings that instill in my mind as I browse  the  quotations  about friendship. This summer, I remember all my friends, be it in the Philippines, or here with my newly found ones in Penang.

Last summer, I was with my co-RODs (residents-on-duty) spending our time together in Bataan.  I was with Dea, Leng and Tintin. Dea and Tin will also be my bridesmaids on my wedding day this August 2011.

This was taken last May 2010 in Bataan (L-R): Leng, me, Dea and Tin (my co-RODs)

sleep over in leng's place...

These are the people that is worth writing about, all the good times that we shared together:  my old and new friends…  🙂

Cel and Dea, our newly found friends from USM

These two young ladies are the exchange students of UP Diliman and Ateneo de Manila, spending their  internship  in University Sains Malaysia (USM) in Penang Island. Ces and Ara are the sweet, bubbly girls I met this summer and being with them makes me remember my good old times in college.

What I learned in life is to avoid people who are vexations to the spirit, exuding negativity and pessimisms of life.

“He who has a thousand friends has not a friend to spare, And he who has one enemy will meet him everywhere.

– Ralph Waldo Emerson “

So, which one do you want to have? Make friends…or  enemies..? 🙂

It was a long weekend for the month of May when Labor Day fell on a Sunday here in Penang (if holiday falls on  a Sunday, Monday is also declared as a holiday). 🙂  So me and  Bel , who used to be my ‘kababata’,  plan to spend our summer getaway in Bukit Merah  Laketown Waterpark Resort near Ipoh. We were with Lewis, (Bel’s husband), Grandpa Lim Chee Long (father-in-law of Bel), and my colleagues : Drs. Sayao, Jhoram and Roy in addition to the 2 young ladies of USM, Ces and Ara.

We were fetched by Bel and Lewis at around 8AM in Vista Perdana.

We had our packed lunch cooked by Madir  Sayao. (this is how we , Filipino lecturers , call Dra. Jacinta, which means mother) We had pork adobo ,  palitaw  in addition to the sushis made by Belen.

The travel takes around an hour from Butterworth going to Bukit Merah so we had our stop over to have our breakfast in a Chinese resto around Bukit Mertajam.

Madir Sayao's yummy adobooooo....

palitaw ni Madir...

Stop over in a chinese resto (L-R):me, Roy, Jhoram, Ara, Lewis, Bel and Madir Sayao.

After  a  full stomach, we headed to Laketown resort. The beautiful  terrains and green scenery  that we see made our travel relaxing .

Excitement filled our hearts as we reached the place. We started to flash our cameras and had our own poses.  The laketown consists of three theme parks: WATERPARK, ECOLAND and ORANGUTAN ISLAND . We chose to go to Waterpark.  It consists of 10 attractions:

 

After queuing ,  we deposited our valuables in a locker which costs us RM 4. We also rented a floater for all of us which costs RM 15.

Madir Sayao and I tried the Body slides (blue ones) while Ces and Ara tried the  Water Speed Slides (yellow slides). We kept our hands crossed in our chests and so as our legs while sliding down the pool.  The blue slide is so winding with deep angles that I felt as if I am being thrown away sideways and down  a ravine. It was sooo  fun!

What I also like include the Giant Wet Bubble and Tube Slides which uses a floater.

In the Giant Wet Bubble, we were given 5 minutes to climb, jump, slide and play. I found it hard to climb the bubble in the first round, even if there were ropes to handle at. The bubble is so slippery  but at last, in the second round,  I was able to reach the top. It also rained while we were playing.

The Tube Slide, on the otherhand,  is like a body slide with a floater,  where two persons can ride. Bel, me, Lewis and, Jhoram  tried it for several times.

The Boomerang is the most exciting and heart-stopping of all. I didn’t have the guts to ride on it  upon seeing an almost 90 degree angle of it. But the two girls had fun and enjoyed the ride for several times! (blame the raging hormones of youth!).This  first and only one of its kind in this country and in South East Asia (Bukit Merah Waterpark).

There is also a lazy river and the  Sandy Beachfront Wave Pool …which has a salty water like the sea. There is also the Bubbles restaurants inside, and several stores where you can buy softdrinks, sitsiryas and even ice cream.

Since we had our packed lunch, we just ate outside the waterpark near the lagoon.

In the afternoon, the scorching heat of the sun was changed into a windy, rainy one.

We really enjoyed the waterpark. Next time, we will try the other theme parks.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sheng
    May 08, 2011 @ 03:03:53

    What a way to enjoy friendship!

    Reply

  2. upto6only
    May 08, 2011 @ 13:56:14

    sarap naman. sarap talaga if you have friends like that 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

