Motivational Quotes to Start a Healthy Lifestyle

Few months and it will be my Big Day…and I am still big! 🙂

Searching for a lot of diet tips, I ended up reading diet quotes instead.But it inspires me, and  I started writing about it.

“My fat scares me – it’s a ticking time bomb.
– Carrie Latet”

This boosts my enthusiasm to start eating in a healthy way. Being overweight put burden not just  in my pocket (for all those XL and double XL clothes) but also to my health.

I have an adult-onset asthma and was put on high steroid last October 2010,when I started working here in Penang, Malaysia. I became allergic to chicken and shrimps. I gained 4 kilos in one month and developed Cushing’s syndrome.

Bel and me during the Hari Raya Vacation 2010

As soon as I recover from my asthma, I started desensitization and started exercising  by  having sit-ups for 30 minutes, 3x a week (not a bad start…)

I also bought my torture device:


“In the Middle Ages, they had guillotines, stretch racks, whips and cahins.  Nowadays, we have a much more effective torture device called the bathroom scale.  ~Stephen Phillips”

My bathroom scale yells at me every morning, everytime I stepped on it.From then, I started monitoring what I ate, made a food diary to keep track on my diet and increased my activity by doing a “walk-jog” session for an hour, 3-4x a week, with my friends around Vista Perdana.

Talking about friendship again, it is easier to engage in a healthy lifestyle if your friends are also into it, especially with my housemates Jhoram and Ate Vivs who are also health conscious.

But the problem lies with this:

“The older you get, the tougher it is to lose weight, because by then your body and your fat are really good friends.  ~Author Unknown”

I realized this when I weighed myself after a month of having a regular exercise ( jogging for an hour and a half)  and diet. For one month, I was  only able to  lose 0.30 kg! Now  I can compare how easy it was, when I was in my early twenties than during these times. 😦

This one is another hilarious quote that hits me:

I’m allergic to food.  Every time I eat it breaks out into fat.  ~Jennifer Greene Duncan”

And so the first thing is to get motivated to work out, move and exercise:

“The secret of getting ahead is getting started.
– Mark Twain”

My housemates and I started eating brown rice instead of the usual nasi putih.  

“Brown rice is a good source of dietary fiber, protein, and gamma-oryzanol. White rice is brown rice that has had essential nutrients removed when processed in order to make it easier and faster to cook, and to give it a longer shelf life. This is accomplished by removing the bran, and with it, minerals and vitamins that are necessary in our diet.” (BENEFITS OF BROWN RICE)

Here’s a list of foods that I bought:

A ton of fruits and vegetables. But beware of fruits with higher fat content like avocado and try to choose those  with lower glycemic index. I like to eat grapes and my nutritionist advised me to eat 8 pcs only for a day.

“Plant a radish, get a radish, never any doubt. That’s why I love vegetables, you know what they’re about!
– Tom Jones and Harvey Schmidt”
and
“Strawberries are the angels of the earth, innocent and sweet with green leafy wings reaching heavenward.
– Jasmine Heiler”

I like yogurt in any form. Be it in a cream or bar, my tastebuds loves it. Instead of ice cream, I chose the low-fat yogurt with different flavors especially the LiteYo Cappucino. Others include the strawberry and Fruit basket flavors. This yogood bar is a muesli bar. For milk, I prefer skim milk and soya (DeLite).

I used to eat this muesli as my snacks instead of eating sitsiryas.

“Forget love – I’d rather fall in chocolate!  ~Attributed to Sandra J. Dykes”

I love chocolates and cakes. Sinful foods… and to lessen the guilt, choose the “healthy” dark chocolates!

Food chains now are also  becoming nutritionally conscious.  We found a healthy green tea cheesecake in  Secret Recipe, Queensbay Mall.

Green tea cheesecake of Secret Recipe

Dieting needs also a break, at least once a week or I will have a rebound spells of gluttony. I just keep in mind these sayings:

“Bigger snacks mean bigger slacks.A moment on the lips, a lifetime on the hips.
– Anon”

Sometimes it can be boring if the exercises that we do are routinary. So we modified it every week like jogging, going to the Gym, swimming and aero dancing in Dr. Roy’s house. 🙂

  

 

 If I am struggling to get up and get going, these quotes also inspires me:

“A day will never be anymore than what you make of it.

– Josh S. Hinds”

Exercise is not only good for the body but also for the soul for it helps us release our HAPPY HORMONES. According to research just 30 minutes of good exercise makes you feel happy.The secret lies in two chemicals we produce – cortisol and endorphins. Exercise chews up the excess cortisol and so we feel healthier and happier and exercise releases more  endorphins. ( HAPPY HORMONES IN THE GYM)

Starting a healthy lifestyle is easy as long as you have the motivations to do it. If you ask me to pay you a thousand ringgit just to take care of your health, then, the problem lies here:

Gluttony is an emotional escape, a sign something is eating us.  ~Peter De Vries”

“Health is wealth”, and I have seen that in my life,  with all of my allergies and asthma, it  devastated my pocket.  I think I should start and continue shaping my life  now, not just because “I should fit in my wedding gown” or for any other reasons, but I want to lengthen my life as well. 🙂

” To lengthen your life, shorten your meals.  ~Proverb”

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. upto6only
    Jun 05, 2011 @ 02:59:43

    wow goodluck on your diet 🙂 now that you mentioned this, i better heada back to the gym. Since your BIG day is nearing pala, dika pa na-stress? and sometimes that makes you loose weight too 🙂

    Reply

    • centromeredaw
      Jun 10, 2011 @ 06:30:36

      HI Iana! super stress na nga! hehe! kaso my metabolism is very slow pa din, so instead of loosing weight so fast , I ended up having pimples instead! nyaks! But I still keep my spirits high! go,go diet pa din! 🙂

      Reply

  2. rob
    Jun 05, 2011 @ 08:27:07

    .. that’s a good start. i have not discipline myself to do exercise regularly and i know i eat unhealthy – siguro pag may naramdaman na macoconvince ko na sarili ko, haha.

    Reply

  3. sheng
    Jun 05, 2011 @ 21:59:06

    Fruits! Now the vegetarian in me is acting once again. Ugh!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

