A Deepavali Getaway

It’s Deepavali again in Malaysia (October 26, 2011). It is a “festival of lights” celebrated by Hindus and Jains. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diwali).

My friend Bel and Lewis invited us to have an eat-all-you-can buffet in a  Tao  Authentic Asian Cuisine,located in Auto City, Bukit Mertajam.  The restaurant includes specialties such as Japanese, Chinese, Thailand, and other foreign or ethnic food.

L-R: Bel, me, my hubby Romy, Ate Vivs

I’m 14 weeks pregnant and this marked my second trimester. I feel great compared to the past few days, and lesser feeling of nausea.

The resto opens at 12 NN. We roam around first while waiting for it to serve lunch.

Holding my baby...14 weeks AOG ...(yehey, i'm in my second trimester!)

Connecting the restaurant is the Tao Lounge. It has a bar serving alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks. The balcony gives a full view of autocity. It has also a live band at night.  🙂

The Bar

Overseeing the whole Auto City

The beautiful balcony. These drum antiques serve as tables at night

The Lounge

Tao Lounge at night

my baby and I are hungry....can't wait long enough...

the long table waiting for us...

At last…

my honey near the buffet table

The  table consists of vegetable, fruits and potato salad, different makkis, chocolate fundue, coffee, roasted duck and jellyfish.  Unlike “Kamay-Kainan” and “Dads” in the Philippines, we can order  other delicacies/main dish which are not served in their buffet table.

"Drunken chicken" as seen in their menu...

roasted duck

crablets

sushi roll (makimono)

yummy makis

The salad counter...

fruits-all-you-can

different dressings

my favorite chocolate fountain

unlimited coffee...

So let’s get started…

my appetizer plate ...

I tried sashimi even if I’m pregnant…I consumed around 2-5 pcs of  raw salmon. There’s a study that raw foods can be eaten by pregnant women, provided that of course, you trust the restaurant and preparation is clean.

Hot, spicy chicken

yummy Taiwanese Prawn Mantis

The prawn mantis are the best, they tastes like “chicharon”!

oyster with cheese

Hiyashi shishamo

tempura moraiwase!!!

Lamb teriyaki

yummy chicken

Motoyaki Scallop

Salmon Teriyaki!

The favourite of the crowd, salmon teriyaki. We ordered approximately 8 plates of this! 🙂

Abalone

my friends...

hearty meal...

Handroll temaki

Next  after the main dish was followed by desserts. We had green tea ice cream and  choco-cappucino, on the side of chocolate fundue. We alternate this with the main dish and also with their unlimited coffee. (Coffee has a limit for preggies, only up to less than 200 mg per day (that’s about one 12-ounce cup of coffee))  🙂

green tea ice cream

cappucino-choco ice crream

Busog!

We stayed up to 3 P.M. eating, talking, drinking and eating again.

The price is worth it and the food really tastes good. 🙂

Leave a Reply

